Monday, September 19, 2011

The company said no more holidays for the rest of the year. But tomorrow is a holiday.

September 19: Surprise Holiday

I didn't blog yesterday because I found out at 5pm that today (the 19th) was a holiday haha.  I decided that I would be staying home (the weekend is coming up soon, and my budget is a little under the weather anyways), and so would have nothing to blog about.  Combined with the fact that yesterday was quite uneventful, I decided to combine the two days into one.

Yesterday, as I said, was quite uneventful.  I got up on time and to work on time, and worked on my paper all day.  I am unfortunately finishing up all of the sections of my paper aside from "Related Work", which means I will no longer be able to avoid a massive amount of paper-reading. D:  I'm pretty sure that's the wrong order to do things, philosophically speaking, but I would be highly surprised if it's not the norm haha.  I am quite liking LaTeX the more I use it, and I think that the problems I do have with it are probably my own fault more than anything. >_<  If I ever have to use it again, perhaps I'll find out.

A new employee joined the PIGs yesterday!  He's apparently going to be working with Nishida-san, so I won't have work related contact with him, but he will be playing volleyball.  He's actually taller than anyone else in the group by a significant margin, so I am interested to see how completely unfair it is haha.  His name is Itou-san, and he did an internship (their domestic internships are 1 month! D:) for the PIGs, and is coming back after being hired by the company for real.  Apparently when NTT hires you for real, they make you do something totally unrelated to your future work like selling FLET'S subscriptions in Nagano or something. >_<  I am glad that North American companies don't seem to do that, and I'm glad that they didn't think it'd be a good idea to start me off in a similar manner over here haha.

Nothing too eventful happened in the evening, aside from dinner being unusually salty.  It was curry-udon, but I could hardly eat it by the end. O_O  I probably have high blood pressure or something by now.  I am very much looking forward to food not having quite so much salt in it when I come back to Canada, that's for sure.  Oh yes! I forgot to mention that the Yokosan had figs in stock last night.  I bought some and devoured three, and put two in the freezer for today.

Today I got up at sometime between 10 and 12 ahahah.  I honestly can't remember haha.  I ate a breakfast of korokke I'd bought yesterday, carrots, bananas, grapefruit and figs.  I let the figs thaw too long, and so they weren't frozen anymore at all.  The freezing/thawing process had rendered them almost textureless, so at least it was an interesting experience, though not the one I was looking for (that experience is in another castle).

I spent the early afternoon playing StarCraft with Kevin, and later Vincent, before actually LADDERING for the first time in AGES. D:  It was rather stressful, and just as frustrating as I remember it being.  I don't understand why people love one-basing so much... It's pretty much a dead end in terms of skill progression, so it has to be completely about the instant gratification of winning.  Grow up, chumps! D:<  I do suppose it's a bit odd to call people I lose to chumps, but whatever, the people who lost to me are probably calling for the "N" key to be removed from standard keyboards or something.  Oh well, it was actually rather enjoyable in retrospect ahaha.  It also gives me the drive to do more constructive things, for some reason.  I wrote up a vocab list for myself to use this weekend after playing!  I guess that means that I'd better play more often, eh? ;D

I ate katsu-don for dinner because I didn't realize that I was hungry until I was starting to get a headache from it.  Katsu-don is fast, so I decided to have it instead of a restaurant meal.  I actually ran out of grapefruits in the freezer (D:), so I ended up eating chocolate ice cream for dessert.  I hope I can get to sleep OK.

I was supposed to play StarCraft with the guy who just moved into my dorm a week or so ago, but he never appeared to have added me in the game.  I assume he either forgot, or his Internet connection setup went not-so-smoothly.  I hope that it was the former, because I would not wish a lack of Internet even upon my worst enemies (which I so have...).  Anyways, that just about wraps up today, so I think I'll take a bow and go to bed now.  Night!

No comments:

Post a Comment